Request Information Schedule an Audition Apply Now
Apply Now
Menu MenuMenu


Down Arrow

2023 Drama Desk Award Nominations

April 27, 2023 - Alumni, Awards

The Drama Desk Award winners will be announced the week of May 29, with a ceremony to follow on June 6.


Outstanding Play

Leopoldstadt - Featuring Caissie Levy '02

Outstanding Musical

Between the Lines
 - Co-Composed by Elyssa Samsel '06

Some Like it Hot
 - Featuring J. Harrison Ghee '09 and Jarvis B. Manning Jr. '06

Outstanding Revival of a Play

The Piano Lesson
 - Featuring Ray Fisher '07 and Trai Byers '07

Outstanding Revival of a Musical

Into the Woods
 - Featuring Albert Guerzon '00

Merrily We Roll Along - Featuring Krystal Joy Brown '04

 - Associate Directed by Emilio Ramos '13

Sweeney Todd - Featuring Maria Bilboa '17

Outstanding Lead Performance in a Play

Denise Manning '14

Outstanding Lead Performance in a Musical

J. Harrison Ghee '09
Some Like it Hot

Outstanding Featured Performance in a Play

Ray Fisher '07
The Piano Lesson

Outstanding Music

Elyssa Samsel '06
Between the Lines

Outstanding Fight Choreography

Rocio Mendez '08
Día Y Noche

Rocio Mendez '08
How to Defend Yourself

Productions featuring AMDA graduates with multiple nominations:

Some Like it Hot: 8
Into the Woods: 6
Life of Pi: 5
Merrily We Roll Along: 5
The Piano Lesson: 5
Between the Lines: 4
Parade: 4
Sweeney Todd: 4
A Beautiful Noise, The Neil Diamond Musical: 3
Ain't No Mo': 2
Leopoldstadt: 2
The Harder They Come: 2