Request Information Schedule an Audition Apply Now
Apply Now
Menu MenuMenu


Down Arrow

The 2011-2012 Drama League Awards Nominations!

April 24, 2012 - Alumni, Announcements, Awards

The 78th Annual Drama League Award nominations have been announced. AMDA congratulates our two alumna nominated for the Distinguished Performance Award along with our six alumni in nominated productions!

Distinguished Performance Award

One winner is selected from this category for which the recipient can only receive the award once during his or her career. There are currently 57 nominees in this category.

  • Nina Arianda, Venus In Fur as Vanda (AMDA 2005)
  • Tyne Daly, Master Class as Maria Callas (AMDA 1965)

Distinguished Production of a Play

  • Venus in Fur starring AMDA alumna Nina Arianda (AMDA 2005)
    Manhattan Theatre Club/Lyceum Theatre
    Jon B. Platt, Scott Landis, Manhattan Theatre Club, Jessica R. Jene, Scott M. Delman and Classic Stage Company, producers

Distinguished Production of a Musical

  • Ghost starring AMDA alumna Caissie Levy as Molly (AMDA 2002), alumna Vasthy Mompoint (AMDA 1999) and alumnus Albert Guerzon (AMDA 2000)
    Lunt-Fontanne Theatre
    Colin Ingram, Hello Entertainment/David Garfinkle, Donovan Mannato, MJE Productions, Patricia Lambrecht, Adam Silberman, producers
  • Leap of Faith featuring AMDA alumna Krystal Joy Brown (AMDA 2004)
    St. James Theatre
    Michael Manheim, James D. Stern, Douglas L. Meyer, Marc Routh, Richard Frankel, Tom Viertel, Steven Baruch, Annette Niemtzow, Daryl Roth, Robert G. Bartner, Steven and Shannon Silva, Endgame Entertainment, Patricia Monaco, Debi Coleman, Dancecap Productions, Inc., Steve Kaplan, Relativity Media LLC, Rich/Caudwell, Center Theatre Group, Jujamcyn Theatres, producers

Distinguished Revival of a Musical

  • Follies featuring AMDA alumna Amanda Kloots Larson (AMDA 2002)
    Marquis Theatre
    The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, Nederlander Presentations Inc., Adrienne Arsht, HRH Foundation, Allan Williams, producers
  • Evita featuring AMDA alumnus Colin Cunliffe (AMDA 2000)
    Marquis Theatre
    Hal Luftig, Scott Sanders Productions, Roy Furman, Yasuhiro Kawana, Allan S. Gordon/Adam S. Gordon, James L. Nederlander, Terry Allen Kramer, Gutterman Fuld Chernoff/Pittsburgh CLO, Thousand Stars Productions, Adam Blanshay, Adam Zotovich, Robert Ahrens, Stephanie P. McClelland, Carole L. Haber, Richard Hornos, Carol Fineman, Brian Smith, Warren and Jale Trepp, producers

About: First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members – specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and off-Broadway productions.

A complete list of Drama League Award nominees.